Louisiana Digital News

MLB Superstars Lead Latest Round Of All-Star Voting


Aaron Judge #99 of the New York Yankees celebrates in the dugout his two-run home run against the Baltimore Orioles in the fifth inning at Yankee Stadium on May 23, 2022 in New York City.
(Photo by Jim McIsaac/Getty Images)


The 2022 MLB All-Star Game will be played in Los Angeles, on July 19.

Fans are responsible for the first round of selections: they pick the starters in each league when it comes to position players.

According to Bob Nightengale of USA Today, “Aaron Judge and Mookie Betts continue to lead All Star balloting.”

He posted a picture with each league and each position’s leading vote-getters.

Alejandro Kirk, Vladimir Guerrero Jr., Jose Altuve, Jose Ramirez, Bo Bichette, Aaron Judge, Mike Trout, George Springer, and Yordan Alvarez are currently leading the vote in their respective positions in the American League.

In the National League; Willson Contreras, Paul Goldschmidt, Jazz Chisholm Jr., Manny Machado, Trea Turner, Mookie Betts, Ronald Acuna Jr., Joc Pederson, and Bryce Harper are leading their respective positions.

With over 2,400,000 votes, Judge has been the most popular vote by a comfortable margin.

He has been extremely impressive at the plate, with a .294/.370/.643 line and 28 home runs, including a walk-off one on Sunday to lift the New York Yankees over the Houston Astros.


Player Selection Process

Fan voting is the first phase of the selection process for the All-Star Game.

After that, players, coaches and managers select 16 ballplayers: eight pitchers (five starters and three relievers) and one back-up player for each position.

Each league’s manager (in consultation with the other managers in his league and the Commissioner’s Office) will then fill up the roster to 33 players.

The “final vote” process awards one more spot in each league.

Despite many injuries to high-profile stars in both leagues (Fernando Tatis Jr., Betts, Harper, Machado, deGrom, and more), fans will likely enjoy a great game with the best available players.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.